Importing photos that are already inside of your computer into Adobe Lightroom (Cloud-Based) Library is easy. In this video tutorial, I will teach you how to add photos from any folder inside of your computer into your Adobe Lightroom Library.
This is a very short video because so many of the steps in this process are exactly like the ones in this tutorial on How To Import New Photos From A Digital Camera’s Memory Card Into Adobe Lightroom.
One thing that I want to emphasize here is that once you have successfully imported a photo from your computer into Adobe Lightroom then you can delete the original from your computer if you want. I am not saying that you must do this and, of course, please be sure not to delete photos that you have added into your Lightroom Library yet!
You can delete images from your computer though once they have been added into your Lightroom Library, because with the Cloud-Based version of Lightroom all of your original images are stored for you on Adobe’s servers. This is where the cloud-based version of Adobe Lightroom is so different from the older desktop focused program called Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic.
If you are working with Adobe Photoshop Lightroom Classic then deleting images from your computer’s hard drive is likely to create a huge disaster. With the cloud-based App though, once your photos have been uploaded to Adobe’s servers then any other copies of that image that you find outside of your Adobe Lightroom Library can be deleted without any fear.
As long as you see that little check mark in a circle symbol when you are viewing your images in Adobe Lightroom’s Square Grid View Mode then you can rest assured that your images are being safely stored away for you on Adobe’s servers.
Again, I am not telling you that you should, or must, delete anything from your hard drive. When in doubt please be careful but the beauty of cloud-based image storage is that you no longer need to keep thousands of photos on your computer’s internal hard drive. Once your photos are up “on the cloud” then whatever is left behind outside on your Adobe Lightroom Library is no longer necessary.